Inspirational students celebrated at Further Education Awards

The success and achievements of Warrington Collegiate’s inspirational students has been celebrated at the College’s annual Further Education Awards.

Friends, family, staff and fellow students gathered at St Elphin’s Church in Warrington on Tuesday 14th June to honour students from across the curriculum who have gone above and beyond both inside and outside of College to become exemplary students.

The ceremony was opened by Reverend Paul Wilson before Principal and Chief Executive Nichola Newton told the 250 guests – which also included dignitaries and sponsors Newsquest and Wire FM – about the College’s recent achievements.

A total of 61 awards were handed out on the night, including Outstanding Achievement Awards, Graduate Awards and a series of special awards.

The awards not only reflect the hard work and dedication of students and their tutors but also the commitment to excellence in their studies in vocational qualifications and apprenticeships.

Sian Haselden – who took home the ‘Outstanding Achievement Award in Public Services’ – was also named Overall Outstanding Student of the Year.

The 17-year-old was presented the award by Ann White, sales manager at Wire FM.

She was nominated by her tutor Tina James, who described her as the “definition of the perfect Public Services student”.

This summer, she will be going to Romania with Warrington Youth Club, helping out at a summer camp with the charity Love Light Romania, which helps people in poverty.

The Overall Outstanding Apprentice of the Year award went to Hairdressing apprentice Caitlin Wright. Her award was presented by Richard Dowling, Warrington Display Team Leader at Newsquest, to her tutor Victoria Stafford, who collected the award on Caitlin’s behalf.

Caitlin was described by Victoria as an ideal apprentice. She has lovely client care, which has been evident on her employer’s Facebook page where clients have commented on her excellent practical skills.

She has shown so much passion towards the business and her employer stated that her next apprentice has got big shoes to fill as Caitlin has set such high standards – she will be a hard act to follow.

Students who have excelled in activities outside of their programme of study were honoured with the Warrington Collegiate Graduate Awards, Gold, Silver and Bronze. The awards represent endeavour in a number of fields, including College, charitable, sporting and voluntary activity.

Five special recognition awards were received by students who have excelled academically and provided inspiration to others in their chosen profession.

The Nathan Taylor Memorial Award was given to exemplary student Adam Lomax, described as one of most hard working, police and conscientious students that his tutor has ever had the privilege of teaching.

He is creative, innovative and infused with an abundance of passion, inspiring and motivating those in class around him. His tutor said Adam reminds him of what really matters in education and above all else, inspires him to be a better teacher.

Art & Design student Carl Lawton received the Serena Harding Memorial Award in recognition of his attitude to learning and developing his own skillset, which has led him to create within himself a student the College could not be more proud of.

The Elliot Award for Progress in Construction & Technology went to Nathan Wilcock, who has worked exceptionally well on his Plumbing course. Nathan was described as a very hard working and polite student who completes his practical tasks and written work without fail.

ICT student Luke Balshaw took home the Phil Callaghan Special Award. Never missing a deadline, he is extremely supportive of his peers and is always willing to help. He has secured firm offers at all of his university choices and deserves great success for being a fantastic learner.

The Hilary Tucker Award for Outstanding Achievement went to Sport student Alex Green, who has been a dedicated expert learner from the start, always offering his support to his peers. Alex was described as a true inspiration for all learners.

The awards closed with the Student Vote of Thanks, given by Joshua Pyrah – who also took home the Outstanding Contribution to the Student Leadership team in recognition of his work as both student governor and ambassador, roles he fulfils while also studying a full time Plumbing Level 2 course and an evening Electrical Level 2 course.

Joshua will spend another two years at the College, completing his Level 2 and then Level 3 courses, before then aspiring to complete an Accounting course which will help him to achieve his goal of owning his own Plumbing business.

Congratulations to all our winners.

Outstanding Achievement & Skills Awards.

Access to Higher Education – Catherine Jones
Aviation – Emily Horne
Beauty – Shannon Anderson
Apprentice in Brickwrok – Jordan Byrne
Business & Accounting – Peng Guo
Carpentry & Joinery – Chris woods
Childcare – Keyleigh Bowden-Bevan
Construction & Plumbing – Tracey Smith
Apprentice in Construction & Plumbing – Jade Campbell
Creative Arts – Nicole Royle
Education & Training – Nick Rodely
Engineering & Electrical – Joseph Jones
English – Bethan Egan
Foundation Studies – Patrick McConville
Hairdressing – Aisha Humphris
Apprentice in Hairdressing & Beauty – Caitlin Wright
Health & Social Care – Catharine Kelly
Hospitality & Catering – Amy Heywood
ICT & Media – Emma Merritt
Maths – Sarah Glynn
Motor Vehicle – Lara Fitzsimmons
Apprentice in Motor Vehicle – Shane Mayes
Performing Arts – Hannah Pinnington
Public Services – Sian Haselden
Science – Laura Bates
Sport – Matthew Barker

Bronze Graduate Award
Victoria Anderson
Matthew Barker
Francesca Foy
Mathew Gillooly
Alex Green
James Wedgeworth
Kirsty McMonnies
Klaudia Molnar
Joseph Moore
Mollie Moreton
Hannah Peake
Callum Richards

Silver Graduate Award
Russell Wood
Aidan Carney
James Barnshaw
Lisa Adamson
Leon Fisher


Gold Graduate Award
Brigitta Pal
Sian Haselden
Sacha Hughes
Buntu Malada
Georgia Brown-Crowther
Abby Thomas
Leah Foote
Jamie-Lea Whyman
Alex Lea
Kieran Jones

Outstanding Contribution to the Student Leadership Team
Joshua Pyrah

Nathan Taylor Memorial Award
Adam Lomax

Serena Harding Memorial Award
Carl Lawton

Elliot Award for Progress in Construction & Technology
Nathan Wilcock

Phil Callaghan Special Award
Luke Balshaw

Hilary Tucker Award for Outstanding Achievement
Alex Green

Overall Outstanding Student Award Sponsored by Wire FM
Sian Haselden

Overall Outstanding Apprentice Award Sponsored by Newsquest
Caitlin Wright